Monday, 20 November 2017

Moses, Oshola, Adekuoroye shine at 2017 Nigerian Sports Award

Chelsea forward Victor Moses was on Friday night named Nigeria's Footballer of the Year (Men) at the sixth edition of the 2017 Nigerian Sports Award held at the Banquet Hall, Eko Hotel and Suites, Lagos.

Also at the award night being organised annually by Unmissable Incentives Limited, Super Falcons and Dalian Quanjian FC of China striker, Asisat Oshoala was named Footballer of the Year (Women).
Reigning African and Commonwealth Games champion, Odunayo Adekuroye, clinched a double at the ceremony as she went home with Wrestler of the Year and the Sportswoman of the Year awards.
World silver medallist, Adekuoroye beat Blessing Oborududu and Gofit Winnie to the Wrestler's award, while she also beat Asisat Oshoala and member of the 2017 AfroBasket D'Tigress winning squad, Evelyn Akhator to the Sports Woman of the Year award. Akhator however, went home with the
Ball Sports Person of the Year award.
 The Punjab Royals of India freestyle wrestler, Adekuoroye, after receiving her award was moved to tears as she sang in Yoruba to praise God for her modest achievements. 
African table tennis star, Aruna Quadri clinched home the Sportsman of the Year award on the night {Friday} he moved to the quarter-final of the just-ended 2017 ITTF Swedish Open.
Quadri beat D’Tigers captain, Ike Diogu and Chelsea star, Victor Moses to the award.

Full list of winners:

Sportsman of the year: Aruna Quadri.
Sportswoman of the year: Odunayo Adekuroye.
Sports Governor of the year: Akinwunmi Ambode (Lagos) and Emmanuel Udom (Akwa Ibom).

Lifetime Achievement Award: Mr Fabio Lanipekun, legendary Nigerian sports journalist.
Special Recognition Award: NFF President, Amaju Pinnick.
Discovery of the year: Georgia Oboh (Golf).
Sports Administrator: Daniel Igali {Wrestling} and Wahid Enitan Oshodi {Table tennis}.
Coach of the year: Akuh Purity.
Team of the year: National Women’s Basketball Team (D'Tigress)
Footballer of the year (Women): Asisat Oshoala.
Footballer of the year (Men): Victor Moses.
Journalist of the year (TV): Promise Efoghe.
Journalist of the year (Radio): Tony Bekederemo.
Photo Journalist of the year: Olusegun Aderinto.
Journalist of the year (Print): Lekan Okusan.
Ball Sports Person of the Year: Evelyn Akhator.
Wrestler of the year: Odunayo Adekuroye.
Special Sports Person of the year: Hannah Babalola.

Caption: Asisat Oshoala (left) receiving the NSA 2017 award in Lagos, from veteran sports journalist, Mr Fabio Lanipekun, while ex-international, Mutiu Adepoju looks on.


No comments:

Post a Comment