Tuesday, 21 November 2017

2017 Dala Hard Court: Nigerian tennis players set Kano aglow

The best assemblage of Nigerian tennis players is in the ancient city of Kano to battle for laurels at the 31st edition of Dala Hard Court tournament sanctioned by the Nigerian Tennis Federation (NTF).

This year's edition began on November 17 with the qualifying games culminating in the main draw which began on Monday.

Reigning CBN champion, Abdulmumini Babalola, leads the pack in the men's category. The former Dala Hard Court winner  will have to contend with the likes of former national champions: Henry Atseye, Clifford Enosorogbe, Shehu Lawal, Thomas Otu as well as in-form Joseph Imeh, Christian Paul, Abayomi Philips, Joseph Iyorovbe, Martins Abamu and Emmanuel Idoko, who inspired Team Muller to the final of the NCC Tennis League Cup over the weekend at the expense of Team Ndoma-Egba.

Interestingly, defending champion, Sylvester Emmanuel now based in Spain, is not available for this year's edition.

In the women's singles, Christie Agugbom remains the player to beat as she aspires to defend her title.

Agugbom will have to contend with former champions: Blessing Samuel and Sarah Adegoke, among others. 

Samuel who lost in last year's final will be looking forward to having a sweet revenge this time.
Also to give Agugbom a run for her money is former champion, Adegoke alongside Omotayo Osewa, Ronke Akingbade, Osariemen Airhunmwunde, Aanu Aiyegbusi and fast rising Aminat Quadri.

It will be recalled that Sylvester Emmanuel last year defeated Moses Michael 7-6, 6-4 to claim the men's singles, while Christie Agugbom outplayed Blessing Samuel 6-2, 6-7, 7-6 in the women's final. 

The 2017 Dala Hard Court Tennis finals will be decided on Saturday, November 25 in Kano.

Abdulmumuni Babalola, can he win Dala title again this year?

No comments:

Post a Comment